Help an idiot with an amp ?

Started by Sam Hain, September 23, 2012, 02:26:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sam Hain

Admittedly im not very good with tech shit...

One of my orange guitar amps has (2) 8 ohm outs and (1) 16. My cab is a Avatar guitar 212 at 8 ohm. It has a daisy chain out.

I have a lead on a nicely priced Ampeg 410 bass cab. It's a 4 ohm cab.

I wanna run the Avatar 212 and the Ampeg Bass cab together.

Help this window licker out....how can I do this?

dunwichamps

theres no easy way to run them together.

Hemisaurus

Technically speaking, it's impossible ;D

Without buying an extra impedance matching transformer, I think maybe $50 or so from Weber, the closest you could get would be to rig up a cable to run the Ampeg and Avatar in series for 12 ohms, and use the 16 ohm out.

Or, assuming the Avatar uses two 16 ohm speakers, disconnect one of the 12"s for a 16 ohm Avatar cab, rewire the Ampeg (all speakers in series) for a 16 ohm cab there, and you now have two proper 16 ohm loads for 8 ohms total. Be warned in this mode half the amps power goes to a single 12", so make sure it can handle it.

Best would probably be to add a third cab, another 2x12 say, that is the same as your Avatar.

Avatar 1 2x12 (2 x 16 ohm speakers) rewired in series for 32 ohm
Avatar 2 2x12 (2 x 16 ohm speakers) rewired in series for 32 ohm
Ampeg   4x10 (4 x 4 ohm speakers)   rewired in series for 16 ohm

Total impedance of stack 8 ohms.

or get a 4 ohm cab (say a nice 4 ohm 15"  ;))

Ampeg  4x10 4 ohm
Some    1x15 4 ohm

get a serial cable or box (see Nick's thread) and hook the 3 cabs up in series for 16 ohm

Sam Hain

Ah bummer...thanks for the info.

So I can't even daisy chain it off the avatar if I use the 16 ohm amp output right?

I guess tbe easiest thing to do is find another 8ohm cab and use tbe other 8ohm output.

Sam Hain

One more...can I use the 4 ohm Ampeg at all with tbe amps 8 & 16 ohm outputs?

Hemisaurus

Yes, but you'd have to rewire the cab.