i sorted out the generator ground thing

Started by jibberish, December 15, 2011, 03:05:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jibberish

I studied the OSHA article on generator grounding, and meditated on what everyone collectively said.
I made sure i understood this new term to me "bonded"
and finally i meditated on what OSHA is all about to try and get clear on wtf is up with this. OSHA is about what happens when the shit hits the the fan, they want things to fail to the safest state possible.  from working on conveyors, SOP is to make sure things fail off or closed or non-energized or in the down position, etc etc etc to minimize someone getting hurt.

ok then it all did get clear regarding the generator vs grounding vs bonding vs no ground scenarios.

first some terminology needs to be defined:

Bonded: this is an electrical connection to a common or non-earth-ground, ground-plane. i had not come across this term before myself. so hey, learned a new one.

Fault: a fault is a circuit, but a bad one where juice is going where it isnt supposed to be going.
so if the "power supply faulted" something shorted out or w/e in the power supply etc. if you get zapped by a ground-fault, you incorrectly/un-intentionally conducted juice through yourself to the ground, and obviously that's bad. heh.

ok WRT (with respect to) the generator scenarios faulting, there are 3 cases.

1) stand alone isolated generator with no conductive superstructure in close porximity, with only stand alone plug-in devices plugged in.

if you are out in the woods and your flourescent light shorts out, the electric is contained starting out the power cord, through the guts of the light and back down the power cord. so the hope is the circuit breaker kicks out while this mess is just burning or w/e by itself.

the generator frame , or designated piece of metal or screw like in a plastric housing IS the common for devices to be grounded/commoned/bonded to lol