Main Menu

EL84 amps.

Started by Chalupacabra, April 01, 2015, 10:51:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chalupacabra

How's everyone's opinion on EL84's?

I know Jet City and their Hovercraft cousins use them, but can an amp like that hit Stoner/Doom territory on stage as a half or full stack and be heavy enough? I know they're loud as hell (never tried a Dwarvenaut though) but can the bass hold up at high volumes? I have a good amount of fuzz and distortion/od pedals to get my grit out of.

johnny problem

Take what I'm about to say however you want.

I'm currently using a Laney VC30 (combo amp 1x12) that runs on 4 EL84s and 12ax7s.  It has the stock speaker, I don't have the bass up all that high.  It's loud enough for my uses, it does the Stoner sound really nice, I find.  It's very bright sounding, and I don't get buried in the mix.

TannisRoot

I've been running a 2xEL84 amp into a 412 for three years and I love it. It's do-able. PM me for a clip if you're interested.

Mr. Foxen

Ashdown Little Bastard should be the low power pedal doomer's amp of choice.

showdown

I'vr been using a Laney L20H in the studio and for small gigs. It's 4xEL84 but single ended class A so the bass gets flabby at higher volumes. But it sounds great if it's mic'ed.

Chalupacabra

Used a 20w at a show Friday in an outside venue and was really surprised. Had more of a "hollow" sound than I'm use to, but the other guitarist ran a 100w head and it kept up AMAZINGLY well, so much so I had it at 5 as his was at 4 volume wise. Thought I was going to be drowned out.

TannisRoot

Might be something wrong with that 100W :P

Muffin Man

Sound at 3:10
I've owned AC30's and DC30's. Huge power open back combo's. Super cool overtones. I want this in the vertical 2x10. Weird sound for an EL84 but Mike has THE ears for American rock.

Pissy