Main Menu

Egnater amps, opinions?

Started by The Shocker, October 23, 2011, 09:20:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Shocker

First off, I'm not a professional musician and I'm not in a band.  I just play to have a hobby (and to keep my ass at home).  I've been interested in the Tweaker 15 watt head to try different tone options.  Anyone ever fooled around with this amp or have an opinion on Egnater in general?

jibberish

i was intruiged by the price for sure.  I waschecking them out at one of the big music gear houses online, but i never heard one.

Hemisaurus

real tweakers use soldering irons ;)

garnet, garnet, garnet.

bitter

http://stonerrocklives.com/forum/index.php?topic=2962.0

I'll repost my contribution but I'll provide a link to the thread (see above)  :)

To preface, I have never played any US Egnater models, only some of the newer Chinese stuff.

The first amp I played was a tour master stack back when they first came out. I think that model was exclusively made for guitarcenter/musiciansfriend retailers. Could be wrong on that though. The amp didn't sound bad, but had a lot of bells and whistles. 4 channels and some rear panel stuff that I cant recall at the moment. I do remember the amp being fairly boring and most of the channels sounded similar. Would have been better with 2 channel imo, but wasn't fancy overall.

The other amp was a tweak combo [40 watts?]. I demo'd one at a shop when trying out a few fuzz pedals. The employee just set it up clean so I could compare the pedals. I didn't even fuss with the settings but it took pedals pretty well.

In retrospect, I think it was the 15 watt model. The store had both in stock. Wish I had spent some more time with it as I'm in the market for a new practice amp. Volume was kept low to moderate, seemed like there was more on tap. Not sure if that helps, but its all I can recall.
Oh Andy I'm gonna go over to mount pilot and worship Satan

The Shocker

Well I'm taking a chance on one.