New to electronics, looking for resources on amplification

Started by aowron, November 21, 2011, 12:58:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aowron

I'm new to electronics (well, I studied it back in school, though slept through the lessons...) and due to a recent interest in MOSFET/JFET/CMOS preamps, I am currently looking for resources on amplification, though I really don't know where to start. What I'm basically interested in is the theory behind amplification, though I guess studying some "general" electronics literature would be useful.

Mr. Foxen

Probably best to start with basic electronics stuff, especially with AC. All the stuff taught to me at school about circuits in practice was DC, but everything that I want to do runs off AC (with DC in addition). There are massive books on electronics, but I found that a good way to learn amps specifically was going through one and identifying stuff, reading about what that thing did, and moving to the next thing. Might not work so easily on PCB SS amps. Gather broken amps and fix them, will improve you soldering if nothing else.

Chovie D

the literature will be somewhat different for tube amps vs solid state.

all the old guys used to tell me to get the rca handbook to get  basic idea of how tubes worked and thier function in amplifiers.
alot of the older amp guys are radio guys. I gfot it and it was far too technical for me, but if your looking for ground up understanding and have the tolerence for dry scientific literature you migh give it a try, beleive you can download for free online?

There are a slew of book and alot of disagreement about their value.
i never found one i could recommend, tho i own several of em.
heres some books, maybe someone can give you thier opinion of these?
http://www.vibroworld.com/parts/tech13.html