Hand cramping up when taking powerchords

Started by aowron, June 26, 2011, 09:35:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

aowron

So I'm getting these cramps around the base of my thumb after constantly taking power chords for a few of minutes (think of something powerchord intensive, like Fu Manchu). Since I can play the bass (a p-bass) for a much longer period without any problems, I'm suspecting that it doesn't have to do with my hand not being trained but rather that I'm doing something wrong technically.

Has anyone else experienced this? How did you get around it/solve it?

VOLVO)))

What fingers are you using to play the power chords? Do you play power chords on the bass? You're probably grabbing too hard. I had this problem, I started playing thumb over the top of the neck, so it wasn't my only anchor point.
"I like a dolphin who gets down on a first date."  - Don G

CHUB CUB 4 LYFE.

beardofcthulhu

I get that occasionally.  Normally around the first 3 frets.  I'll mess with my strap and try to find a better position, and that usually works.  Flying V's are a bitch :)
Peace through volume.

aowron

Sunn: Only playing power chords on the geetar. Usually putting the thumb on the back of the neck, using my index finger for the heavier string, ring finger and pinky for the two lighter strings two frets up. I'll try your advice regarding putting my thumb on top of the neck and check how it works; might be a bit hard though considering that I have one of those baseball bat-neck epi SGs and pretty small hands.

beardofcthulhu: I usually let my guitar strap slide back and forth (i.e. heightening and lowering the neck) in case I'm standing and playing (using a strap) to avoid fucking up my wrist. Actually, I might not get this when standing and playing; gonna to try that.

VOLVO)))

Neck dive will also result in hand fatigue, coming from a guy who plays Mockingbirds and IB's his entire life.