Build a Rig for a Grand

Started by CID Vicious, October 30, 2016, 03:55:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CID Vicious

So, I had to leave all my gear behind in storage in L.A. Wanted to leave it where it was safe while I was getting the Northwest to do my bidding.

Well, the latter part worked out better than planned: Tuesday, I go into the studio with a favorite drummer. Been listening to him since the 90's and likely you have too...but don't want to jinx anything yet.

So I'm grinding up money, my old car is questionable about making another 2000 mile hail Mary, & I'm new at my job...guess I gotta buy a rig!

Normally I have a Gibson SG1 or Melody Maker reissue 1H plugged into either a Laney AOR 100 or a Tri AC & slave head. Line 6 M13, Crybaby standard with 12 bucks in mods, & that covers pretty much all my bases.

I originally picked up a Samick Greg Bennett Torino with my favorite Duncan Designeds in it. *Could* have used this stock. Pkayed and sounded really good, but a bit goofy looking...returned it.

Saw a seafoam green LTD Viper 400 on Craigslist. Eventually figured out this is a Mariners color, its a resprayed white guitar, & overall I decided to take its relicing to the penultimate conclusion, bare neck now. Tossed the EMGs in favor of a single Fluence Modern Ceramic in the bridge.

199 + 129 (Fluence) - 60 (sold EMGs) = $270 fire breathing shredster with a state of the art two mode pickup in the only positionthat matters.

Guitar Center was kind to me...traded in a $50 Blue Voodoo 412 for $75 in credit, and scored a $249 used Mode Four MF400 cab with the factory K100s. Total: $225

Add a 90's Valvestate 100w head for $140 (warrantied!) for the Ultimate $365 Half Stack of Death! Well, ok, Chuck Schuldinger only used the heads, the cabs are Kerry King's choice.